Skip to content Skip to navigation
Resources and Information on COVID-19 Ask a Question

Public Relations

UC Merced alum and Government Relations Representative, Miguel Lopez

Public Relations staff members are UC Merced's official campus storytellers. With teams focused on media relations, internal communications, digital communications, multimedia, and print and web design, Public Relations interacts with internal and external audiences to spread the word about UC Merced and create new, well-informed advocates for our campus.

Public Relations works with local, regional, national and international media outlets to create awareness of UC Merced's cutting-edge research, distinct academic offerings and student successes. The team manages the university’s online newsroom, the official social media accounts and photo archive, and the ucmerced.edu website. Public Relations also works closely with many partners and collaborators on- and off-campus.

Additionally, Public Relations manages the online newsroom and produces e-newsletters such as Daily Briefing and Weekly Update.

James Leonard

Executive Director of Public Relations
209-228-4408
jleonard3@ucmerced.edu

Lorena Anderson

Senior Public Information Officer
209-228-4406
landerson4@ucmerced.edu

Brenda Ortiz

Communications Specialist - Graduate Division
209-228-4203
bortiz@ucmerced.edu

Elizabeth Arakelian

Senior Public Information Officer
(209) 202-3585
earakelian@ucmerced.edu

Michelle Morgante

Public Information Officer
(209) 259-0007
mmorgante@ucmerced.edu

Jennifer Taylor

Internal Communications Coordinator
jtaylor34@ucmerced.edu